Frequently Asked Questions about Driving Under the Influence
As an experienced Valdosta DUI lawyer, Gus Soto knows that you may have many questions about drunk driving laws. Below are few of the most commonly asked questions that clients ask in his DUI practice.
What are the penalties for a DUI?
The fines and penalties for a DUI will depend upon several factors, including the number of prior DUI convictions and whether the incident caused any serious injuries, property damage or deaths. If you are in Georgia and this is your first DUI offense, your driver’s license may be suspended for up to one year. Additionally, you will face criminal sanctions including fines ranging from $300 to $1,000 and a minimum of 24 hours in jail with a potential jail sentence of up to one year.
If this is your second DUI, the State of Georgia can suspend your license for up to three years and your criminal fines will range from $600 to $1,000 with a mandatory minimum of 72 hours in jail and a sentence of up to one year. You can learn more about the potential penalties for driving under the influence in both Georgia and Florida in the DWI and DUI Crimes and Penalties in Valdosta and DWI and DUI Crimes and Penalties in Tallahassee sections of this website.
What is the legal limit to drive?
In both Georgia and Florida, it is illegal for an adult to drive a car with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) percentage that is 0.08% or higher. If you are under the age of 21, it is illegal to drive when your BAC is 0.02% or higher. This means that if you are pulled over by a police officer and your BAC registers over the legal limit, you can be charged with DUI.
It is important to understand that in the State of Georgia you can be arrested for a DUI even if your BAC registers below the legal limit. The Georgia legislature has enacted a “less safe” DUI law. The less safe law provides that it is illegal to drive when you are under the influence of alcohol or drugs and such influence makes it “less safe” for you operate a vehicle. Under this law, if an officer sees signs of drug or alcohol impairment which makes your driving “less safe,” you can be charged with a DUI regardless of your BAC level.
What defenses are available in a DUI case?
If you have been arrested for driving under the influence, Gus Soto will review all of the evidence in your case to build the strongest defense possible. As a former Assistant State Attorney, he has special insight into what is required of police officers in DUI cases. He can identify legal missteps and improper conduct which typically involve the initial traffic stop, chemical testing, equipment calibration, field sobriety tests and police arrest procedures. These types of errors and misconduct are very damaging for the prosecution and can be used to help win your case.
If I have been arrested for a DUI what should I do?
If you have been arrested for a DUI it is important to act quickly. In Georgia and Florida you only have 10 days from the date of your arrest to contest your license suspension; if you fail to file an administrative appeal within the 10-day limit, your license will be automatically suspended. In addition to losing your license, you will face criminal proceedings which often involve harsh punishments, including heavy fines and jail time. With so much at risk, you cannot afford to go it alone. Consult with an experienced DUI attorney who will fight to protect your rights and build a strong defense in your case.
Valdosta Lawyer Gus Soto Will Fight Your DUI Charges
If you have been arrested for driving under the influence in Valdosta, Thomasville or any other area in South Georgia or North Florida, contact DUI defense lawyer Gus Soto today. Gus Soto offers free consultations and will take the time needed to answer your DUI-related questions. You can reach Attorney Soto at 1-888-440-7686 or by completing the online contact form.